School Library Media Specialists of Southeastern New York

Dutchess • Orange • Putnam • Rockland • Sullivan • Ulster • Westchester

SLMSSENY is a professional organization comprised of school library media specialists in southeastern New York. We are one of eight regional affiliates of the School Librarians Section of the New York Library Association.



The 2020-2021 SLMSSENY Representatives are:


Melissa Iamonico - President

Kelsey Cohen - President Elect

Dara Berkwits: Immediate Past-President

Dann Kenefick - Treasurer

Jenna Thorn - Secretary

Melissa Iamonico: SSL Region III Coordinator

Regional Representatives

Sara Haynes - Sullivan County Rep

Sari Grandstaff - Ulster County Rep

Open: Orange County Rep

Open: Rockland County Rep

Amanda Ingalls: Dutchess County Rep

Teka McCabe: Putnam/Northern Westchester County Rep

Kelsey Cohen: Southern Westchester County Rep


Sharon Wiggins- Scholarship, Grants, Awards Chair

Maegan Rose - Private School Liaison

Rebecca Gerald - School Library System Director Liaison

Melissa Heckler - Advocacy

Susan Polos - Advocacy

Teka McCabe - Membership

Elizabeth Blye - Teacher Liaison

Terri Sudol -Technology


Dear SLMSENNY Members,

We regret to inform you that we have to cancel this year’s Spring Symposium event. The current situation in New York and the rest of the country has made it impossible for us to hold the event in June. Therefore, we’re looking for a time to celebrate our Rip Van Winkle Award winner, Thahhnà Lai, along with the 2021 winner, in the future. We look forward to seeing you there!

If you were already registered for the event you'll receive a separate email with information about refunds.

Thank you for your ongoing support of the School Library Media Specialists of Southeastern New York. Stay safe and well.


Dara Berkwits, President

Melissa Iamonico, Event Committee Chair

Teka McCabe, Event Committee

Jenna Thorn, Event Committee


Congratulations to the 2020 SLMSSENY Award Winners!

Bea Griggs Award:

Danielle Dyroff, Little Britain Elementary School

Scholarship Award:

Matthew Spicehandler, SUNY Albany

Administrator Award:

Jo Ann Kraus, Arlington Central School District


Support SLMSSENY by shopping through our Amazon Smile link.