Awards‎ > ‎

Rip Van Winkle

Advocating for and promoting the interests of the school library media specialists in southeastern NY.
First awarded by SLMSSENY in 1980, the Rip Van Winkle award is presented each year to an author or illustrator who resides in our region for outstanding contributions to the world of children’s literature.

Rip Van Winkle Award Criteria

The RVW Award shall be awarded every year to an author or illustrator who resides in the seven-county region and has, over a period of years, made a significant contribution to literature for young people.
The spirit of the award is to recognize an author/illustrator from the SLMSSENY region for a body of work. As such, the following criteria will be used to determine the awardee:
  • Must live within the 7 county region: Dutchess, Orange, Ulster, Westchester, Putnam, Sullivan, Rockland
  • The author’s/illustrators body of work should include well reviewed books for children/young adults
  • The author’s/illustrators body of work should have lasting relevance to young people
  • The author/illustrator has been consistently recommended as an outstanding contributor to the field of literature by school librarians
If you would like to nominate a future recipient, please use the this form:
 Year     Recipient    Information about their work  Location
 2019    Lesa Cline-Ransome
Rhinebeck, Dutchess
 2018    Susanna Reich Manor, Westchester
 2017 Bryan Collier Marlboro, Ulster 
 2016 Nick Bruel Tarrytown, Westchester
 2015 Sarah Weeks Nyack, Rockland
 2014     Ed Young Westchester
 2013     Jennifer Donnelly Dutchess
 2012 Steven James Petruccio Dutchess
Elizabeth Cody Kimmel Cold Spring, Putnam
 2010 Neil Waldman White Plains, Westchester
 2009 K.L. Going Glen Spey, Sullivan
 2008 Charles R. Smith, Jr. Poughkeepsie, Dutchess
 2007 Da Chen Highland, Ulster 
 2006 Amy Axelrod Hurley, Ulster 
 2005 Vera B. Williams Narrowsburg, Sullivan 
 2004Bernard Most, Westchester 
 2003Iza Trapani Park, Ulster
 2002Arthur Yorinks Salem, Westchester 
 2001James Ransome, Dutchess
 2000Jean Marzollo Cold Spring, Putnam
 1999James Howe, Westchester 
 1998Jerry Pinkney, Westchester
 1997Lee Bennett Hopkins Manor, Westchester
 1996Betty Miles, Rockland
 1995Todd Strasser, Westchester
 1994John Peterson, Sullivan
 1993Vicki Cobb White Plains, Westchester
 1992Nancy Willard, Dutchess
 1991Lillian Moore, Ulster
 1990Susan Jeffers, Westchester
 1989Scott O'Dell Waccabuc, Westchester
 1988Judie Angell
South Salem, Westchester
 1987Charlotte Zolotow Ferry, Westchester
 1986Alice & Martin Provensen
Clinton Corners, Dutchess
 1985Paul Galdone City, Rockland
 1984Jean Fritz Dobbs Ferry, Westchester
 1983Susan Beth Pfeffer, Orange
 1982Leonard Kessler New City, Rockland
 1981Jean Craighead George Chappaqua, Westchester
 1980Eleanor Clymer Katonah, Westchester